The manukau Harbour Restoration Society

The Manukau Harbour Restoration Society


The Manukau Harbour Restoration Society (MHRS) was formed in 2011 by Auckland residents living around the harbour committed to improving the condition of the harbour and its environs. The broad aims of the society are to represent all communities and organizations that border on or are influenced by the Manukau Harbour; to restore the Harbour back to its original water quality and environmental state; and in so doing, enhance the harbour as a recreational, transportation and well managed asset, loved by residents of the city of Auckland.



  • To lobby for the restoration of the Manukau Harbour wherever possible back to its original water quality, and environmental state.
  • To represent all communities and organisations that border on or are influenced by the Manukau Harbour.
  • To recognise the sensitivities and aspirations of the Manu Whenua
  • To prevent pollution and abuse of the Harbour as a natural resource
  • To reinstate water borne passenger transport on the Harbour
  • To establish navigational aids on the Harbour
  • To re-establish a Manukau Harbour Authority with responsibility for maintaining the Harbour and its facilities
  • To enable the Harbour to become a recreational asset to the City of Auckland



MHRS is a membership organization with a chair, deputy chair and executive committee elected by financial members.  All officers are volunteers; MHRS has no paid staff.

MHRS welcomes new members who wish to volunteer on the committee or help with  projects.

In 2020/21 the officers and committee members are:

Chair:              TBA

Deputy Chair:  Stephen Lasham

Secretary:       Kerry Harvey, Onehunga

Treasurer:     Jill Rowe, Onehunga

Committee members:

Leonie Norton, Laingholm

Bronwen Turner, Cornwallis

Geoff Shearman, Onehunga

Peter Gibson, Onehunga

Ken Duff, Mangere Bridge

Nicholas Lee, Onehunga

Judi Goldsworthy, Weymouth

Fred Buck, Weymouth

Stephen Lasham, Onehunga

Kerry Martin, Onehunga